Arctic Sea Smoke

Growing up in the Northeast, I have become accustomed to cold winters. The frosty mornings, snow-filled days, and chilly temps are all to be expected. However, rarely we get arctic wind chills so low that it turns our icy Marblehead Harbor into a steaming bath.

I was out walking my youngest dog, Tennessee, on our morning stroll by the water when I witnessed “arctic sea smoke” for the first time. It stopped me in my tracks and made me run home for my camera.

With wind chills reaching -30 degree F, the pictures were painful to take, but worth every frozen finger.

 

 

arctic-sea-smoke

arctic-sea-smoke

 

 

11 comments on “Arctic Sea Smoke

  1. You are brave to go out in that cold weather! You got some beautiful photos, so it must have been well worth it. 🙂 I’ve never seen or heard of that, what a unique thing to behold. I would love to visit someday.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These images are very beautiful along with much of your work that I have seen on other post you have created. You have a very nice eye for things and capture them nicely. The misty water is just perfect in these images and I also loved the crashing wave on that beautiful blue home’s shore line in your “Winter in Kennebunkport” post. Well done and thank you sharing your perfect works with us. 🙂
    Also I would like to thank you for the likes and following of my blog. It is greatly appreciated and I’m glad to have you aboard. Keep up the great works and I’ll be keeping an eye out for them, MT

    Like

  3. I truly admire you for braving the brutal cold we’ve had lately and actually going out and shooting. I definitely could not do it, as I found the walk to my car almost too painful with the weather we’ve had, but you are definitely an example of the fact that little sacrifice and temporary pain leads to amazing results. The photos are gorgeous!

    Like

  4. Beautifully caught! It reminds me of the days I lived on the beach when in winter the ocean being still warm would steam up like this on the cold evening, and as I walked with my feet in the water in the cold air I would feel my feet tingle with the warmth of the water in the cold air. The steam just kept rising as a mist. Thanks for reminding me Laura of a very wonderful experience. Great photos!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

