The Blue Hour

Morning twilight is a favorite part of my day. Less known than evening twilight, it is the very brief time from daybreak to sunrise. During morning twilight my surroundings develop a truly magical feel. twilight-moon

Neither light, nor dark, morning twilight showcases the world in a beautiful blue hue. twilight-tree

A blue so rich that is even more dramatic by the sea . . . I love how the water and sky will imitate each other. My surroundings becomes engulfed in an incredible world of shades of blue.

twilight-bench

And since there is not enough light for shadows, simple objects become dark silhouettes against a stunning blue background.twilight-bird

The perfect time to capture interesting shapes and landscapes.

twilight-fence

One recent early morning, I was lucky enough to have access to one of the floating docks on the harbor. Here I was able to capture twilight from a whole new view.

twilight-rope

Softly rocking on the dark blue water, I truly enjoyed the very peaceful moment. It was just me, some seabirds, and a lovely soft, diffused light. twilight-lobsterboat

No calls, no responsibilities, no place to go . . . I enjoyed every calm second. twilight-rowboat

And in a blink of an eye, the sun rose and the day began. I took a deep breath and felt the sun against my cold face. I wasn’t sure what the new day would bring, but I did know I was now ready. Mornings like this are good for the soul. 🙂

twilight-sun

9 comments on “The Blue Hour

Leave a Reply

