Weekly Photo Challenge: Motion

The theme of the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge this week is Motion . . . a word used to describe the power of movement. In photography, motion is also known as an action shot and when captured at the right precise moment, great things can happen.

I took this picture last summer on our beautiful and serene local beach. My family and I had just finished a delicious picnic dinner by the sea, as the sun began its evening descent. The breeze was crisp, the light was magical, and our laughter filled the air along with the sound of the gentle, crashing waves. It was one of those moments where everything feels right, and I was filled with joy from our simple pleasures.

My kids must have felt the same way as they began to frolic in the sand. Running, skipping, cartwheeling about . . . pure, happy motion. I quickly grabbed my camera, and started clicking away, hoping to capture their happiness on film.

This photo was my favorite of the bunch . . . even without seeing their faces, one can see their joy. I can feel their happiness, and I can feel their movement. Jumping with glee in the early-evening light . . . motion at its best. 🙂

11 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Motion

Leave a Reply

