Letting Go

We lost a best friend last night. Actually, even more than a best friend . . . part of our family. We picked up sweet Harry as a bouncing pup over 13 years ago at Logan Airport in Boston. It was the day after my husband and I had returned from our honeymoon, and from that day on, life with happy Harry began.harry smile

Harry was a true dog through and through . . . loved to play, loved to eat, loved to go on walks (especially the beach) and loved his family. He was here when we brought all 3 of our kids home from the hospital, and has watched them all grow. He has also been here when we brought home 2 more pups for him to play with . . . first our Newfie, Daffodil, and then our rescue hound, Tennessee. Such a good “big brother”.

harry tennessee

He loved them all . . . and, oh, how we loved him. His big round head, playful spirit, and quick wagging tail filled this house with such great energy. Energy that was sometimes out of control . . . he did love to stir up some trouble! Snatching our kids toys, sneaking out of the yard, and running in circles . . . but, wow, did he have fun. Everyday was an adventure for Harry.

harry adventure

What a funny dog. How I will miss his infectious enthusiasm. How I will also miss those soulful eyes, and the way he would follow me around the house . . . always keeping watch over me. So loyal to the end.harry eyes

My only solace is that I know he is still watching over me, just from afar. It’s so hard not to see him, but I know he is there. Rest easy, Harry . . . you were such a good guy.

harry sleeping

15 comments on “Letting Go

  1. Sorry you all lost big Harry. He was a good pooch. I’ll never forget when he was young and he’d get fired up and run around. He was a funny dude.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so sorry for you loss, Harry looked and sounded like a wonderful dog. It’s never easy to lose our furry children. My condolences to you and your family ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A Priest told us once that love is not holding on but letting go. We had to put down our dog the day after thanksgiving, we always called him Mr. Perfect even though his name was Bodie. I still grieve the loss. I make photo buttons with their name tags on them and hang them on the Christmas tree to remind us that they are always with us. Sorry for you loss. Jim

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, Laura, how sad you and your family must feel. I am so sorry for your loss of such a cherished family member. Harry sounds like he was a great guy and I believe he is running happy and free on the other side. Blessings to you all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

